Introduced by: County Administration Committee

Seconded by:

RESOLUTION ADOPTING AND APPROVING LOCAL LAW INTRO. NO. 1 OF 2008, WHICH AMENDS THE BROOME COUNTY CHARTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE TO CORRECT THE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS OF THE COUNTY OF BROOME

WHEREAS, in April 2006 the Town of Union and the City of Binghamton each consolidated certain election districts within certain Legislative Districts of the County of Broome through local resolutions; and

WHEREAS, consolidation of the election districts resulted in a lower cost to taxpayers with fewer new voter election machines having to be purchased to comply with the requirements of HAVA; and

WHEREAS, consolidation of these election district resulted in a renumbering only and did not affect county legislative district; or change any resident's representation or legislative district, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that Local Law Intro. No. 1 of 2008, a copy of which is attached hereto, which amends the Broome County Charter and Administrative Code, be and hereby is adopted and approved.

LOCAL LAW INTRO. NO. 1, 2008

Local Law of the County of Broome to Amend the Broome County Charter and Administrative Code to Redistrict the Legislative Districts of the County of Broome

BE IT ENACTED, by the County Legislature of the County of Broome, as follows:

SECTION 1. Paragraph 3 of Section C201 of Article II of the Broome County Charter, as amended, is hereby amended to read as follows: The County of Broome shall be divided into Legislative Districts, bounded and described as follows:

Legislative Geographic Area Districts

- 1. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 26, 33, 36, 37, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44[, 47])
- 2. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 13)
- 3. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 29, 30, 31, 32, 34, 35, 38, 45, 46) Town of Dickinson (Election Districts 3, 4, 6)
- 4. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 2, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20)
- City of Binghamton (Election Districts 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28)
 Town of Binghamton (Election District 4)
 Town of Vestal (Election Districts 3, 19, 26)
- 6. Town of Conklin (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4)
 Town of Binghamton (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Vestal (Election Districts 2, 18)
- 7. Town of Conklin (Election District 5)
 Town of Colesville (Election District 2)
 Town of Kirkwood (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4)
 Town of Windsor (Election District 4)
- 8. Town of Barker (Election District 1)
 Town of Chenango (Election District 4)
 Town of Dickinson (Election District 1)
 Town of Fenton (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)
- 9. Town of Colesville (Election Districts 1, 3)
 Town of Sanford (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Windsor (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 5)
- 10. Town of Chenango (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
- 11. Town of Barker (Election District 2)
 Town of Lisle (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Maine (Election Districts 1, 3)
 Town of Nanticoke (Election District 1)
 Town of Triangle (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
- 12. City of Binghamton (Election District 1)
 Town of Dickinson (Election Districts 2, 5)
 Town of Union (Election Districts 1, [9,] 12, 44, 51, 52, 54)
- 13. Town of Union (Election Districts 9, 22, 24, 25, [26,] 29, 30, [40,] 39, 41, 53, 59 [, 65])
- 14. Town of Union (Election Districts 28, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 42, 45, 58)
- 15. Town of Union (Election Districts <u>5</u>, <u>8</u>, 17, 18, 19, 21, 23, 27, 46, 47, 56 [, 60, 61, 62])
- 16. Town of Maine (Election Districts 2, 4)
 Town of Union (Election Districts 10, 14, 20, <u>26, 40, 48, 49, 50, 57 [63, 64])</u>
- 17. Town of Union (Election Districts 2, 3, 4, [5,] 6, 7, [8,] 11, 13, 15, 16, 43, 55)
- 18. Town of Vestal (Election Districts 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 21, 22)
- 19. Town of Vestal (Election Districts 8, 10, 15, 16, 17, 20, 23, 24, 25, 27)

SECTION 2. Paragraph C of Section A201 of Article II of the Broome County Administrative code, as amended, is hereby amended as follows: The County of Broome shall be divided into Legislative Districts, bounded and described as follows:

Legislative Geographic Area Districts

- 1. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 26, 33, 36, 37, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44[, 47])
- 2. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 13)
- 3. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 29, 30, 31, 32, 34, 35, 38, 45, 46) Town of Dickinson (Election Districts 3, 4, 6)
- 4. City of Binghamton (Election Districts 2, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20)
- City of Binghamton (Election Districts 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28)
 Town of Binghamton (Election District 4)
 Town of Vestal (Election Districts 3, 19, 26)
- 6. Town of Conklin (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4)
 Town of Binghamton (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Vestal (Election Districts 2, 18)
- 7. Town of Conklin (Election District 5)
 Town of Colesville (Election District 2)
 Town of Kirkwood (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4)
 Town of Windsor (Election District 4)
- 8. Town of Barker (Election District 1)
 Town of Chenango (Election District 4)
 Town of Dickinson (Election District 1)
 Town of Fenton (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)
- 9. Town of Colesville (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Sanford (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Windsor (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 5)
- 10. Town of Chenango (Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
- Town of Barker (Election District 2)
 Town of Lisle (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
 Town of Maine (Election Districts 1, 3)
 Town of Nanticoke (Election District 1)
 Town of Triangle (Election Districts 1, 2, 3)
- 12. City of Binghamton (Election District 1)
 Town of Dickinson (Election Districts 2, 5)
 Town of Union (Election Districts 1, [9,] 12, 44, 51, 52, 54)
- 13. Town of Union (Election Districts 9, 22, 24, 25, [26,] 29, 30, 39, [40,] 41, 53, 59 [, 65])
- 14. Town of Union (Election Districts 28, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 42, 45, 58)
- 15. Town of Union (Election Districts 5, 8, 17, 18, 19, 21, 23, 27, 46, 47, 56 [, 60, 61, 62])
- 16. Town of Maine (Election Districts 2, 4)
 Town of Union (Election Districts 10, 14, 20, <u>26, 40, 48, 49, 50, 57 [63, 64])</u>
- 17. Town of Union (Election Districts 2, 3, 4, [5,] 6, 7, [8,] 11, 13, 15, 16, 43, 55)
- 18. Town of Vestal (Election Districts 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 21, 22)
- 19. Town of Vestal (Election Districts 8, 10, 15, 16, 17, 20, 23, 24, 25, 27)

Reference to "Election Districts" in the above description refers to Election Districts established as of February 15, 2002.

The maps of the districts referred to above, as well as maps showing the Legislative Districts into which Broome County is herein divided, shall be filed with the Clerk of the Broome County Legislature and shall remain on file and shall be considered and hereby made a part hereof. SECTION 3. This Local Law shall become effective upon its filing with the Secretary of State.

Material in [brackets] is deleted Material <u>underlined</u> is added